Abu Dhabi banner

Explore Our History

Abu Dhabi in the
The 1700s
 

Liwa: Birth 

The Modern History of Abu Dhabi started when the tribe of Bani Yas debouched from their motherland Liwa in search of fresh water and new pastures.

In 1761, fresh water was discovered in Abu Dhabi (named “Maleeh” at the time, derived from salt, in reference to the salinised land that extends along the coastline of the island. The new name came from the fact that Abu Dhabi “Father of the Gazelle” is home to a large number of gazelles), where Bani Yas resided, fished and dived for pearls....

Shortly after, Sheikh Shakhbut bin Dhiyab bin Isa Al Nahyan, the chieftain of Bani Yas, settled in the Island of Abu Dhabi and built a square fort with a watchtower (Al Hosn Palace) to protect the city. He was also able to strengthen the local economy by uniting the regional tribes. The hegemony of Abu Dhabi Tribes Alliance at the time stretched from southern skirts of Qatar along the coastline to Dubai; it even reached Al Buraimi, and Al Dhahirah regions and the city was able to establish a potent navy force alongside its ground force.

Throughout the ninetieth and until the end of the twentieth century, Abu Dhabi luxuriated in a flourishing economy owing to pearls trade. 

Since the beginning, the Al Nahyans revealed prodigious political insight, where Sheikh Saeed Bin Tahnoon consolidated the fort to protect the city from aggressors; and after him Sheikh Zayed bin Khalifa who ruled Abu Dhabi for more than half a century. During his reign, despite the recession in previous years, Abu Dhabi matured into the most prosperous city in the region, wherein trade enlivened, agricultural expansion increased substantially, and diving season grew popular yet again.

 Not only did Sheikh Zayed bin Khalifa work on social and political reforms, but also succeeded in the restoration of unity and coherence to the region thanks to the alliances with the tribes outside the borders of the Emirate.

 

1900-1950
 

Qasr Al Hosn

In 1905, Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed launched, in an attempt to establish a unified state, an invite for a union; this tribal meeting represents the roots from which stems the political union experience in the UAE now. In 1909, Sheikh Zayed Bin Khalifa died, leaving behind a prospering Abu Dhabi. 

By the year 1918 the first world war broke out, which had a significant impact on the economy of the region, and the pearl trade retreated in Abu Dhabi after inventing artificial pearls and pearl cultivation in Japan. Soon after the war came to a closure, the Great Depression swept over the world, and pearl diving vessels stopped after the traders failed to fund it....

In the wake of these events, Sheikh Shakhbout Bin Sultan (1928-1966) granted permission to oil companies to start drilling in 1939. Despite the slow exploration and lack of proceeds, Sheikh Shakhbout Bin Sultan used all returns to provide employment opportunities for those affected by the retreat of the pearl trade and to build Qasr Al Hisn (which is currently a historic palace of the ruling family to preserve the cultural heritage of the State). This agreement marked a new beginning for the economy of Abu Dhabi in history.

In 1946, Sheikh Zayed started his rule over Al Ain, and immediately started the development and reform of the city; where he opened the first school in Al Ain, the first hospital and market. He also established a network of roads linking the city, and increased the agricultural area until he came to be known as the "Great Reform Man".

 

1960
 

Great Reform

The city's development increased following the discovery of sizable commercial oil fields in 1958, and the expansion of the city began to accommodate the population growth of Abu Dhabi. In 1962, sailed the first oil tanker called the British Signal from Das Island in Abu Dhabi. 

In 1966, Sheikh Zayed took over the reins of government in Abu Dhabi; he believed since the first moment of the importance of the distribution of oil wealth to his people and sat his eyes on improving the quality of life for the people of Abu Dhabi. He urged all Emiratis to take ownership of land, the real expansion around Qasr Al Hisn began, with increased numbers of newcomers to the city to work and live.

1970
 

The Union 

In 1968, Britain announced that it would withdraw from the Gulf region in three years. On account of Britain's decision, in 1971, Sheikh Zayed founded the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), and Abu Dhabi started to take charge of its wealth and signed agreements with foreign oil companies to receive 50% of the oil revenues.

...

The oil field " Al-Bab" recorded production of 100,000 barrels per day in 1974, whereas the field "Bu-Hasa" recorded production up to 500,000 barrels per day in the same year. Abu Dhabi gained an international reputation not only as one of the leading oil-producing countries in the world but also for producing high-quality oil that has a high degree of density and content of sulfur.

After the withdrawal, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan met with Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum and held the convention known as "Assamiyh Convention" which proposed the unity between Abu Dhabi and Dubai while extending the invitation to the rest of the Emirates and other Gulf countries.

Sheikh Zayed hurried to unite the word of the rulers of the surrounding emirates to form the United Arab Emirates as a powerful confederal state on the 2nd of December 1971 and was elected head of state.

Since he assumed office in Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Zayed started supporting the city with a sustainable infrastructure and implemented extensible reforms, and built a bridge to bypass the Abu Dhabi island to the mainland, and an airport to link Abu Dhabi to the rest of the world. He also initiated the development of education, health, and sat a tremendous developmental program and led its implementation. He encouraged his people to participate wholeheartedly in the occurring renaissance and employed foreign competencies to use their expertise. Within days of assuming leadership, he announced the creation of an official government.

By 1977, the capital's first Executive Council announced an Economic Development Plan of 8.23 billion dirhams. 

 
1980
 

Rapid Growth

Sheikh Zayed agreed with Gulf Rulers to create a gulf union between the sibling countries; on 25th of May 1981, the Gulf Cooperation Council was established after the signing of the agreement in Abu Dhabi, which has had an enormous positive impact on all the countries of the Gulf.

It is worthy to mention that His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, was one of the founders of the Peninsula Shield Force; a formation of strategic defence systems of the Gulf Cooperation Council, founded in 1983 to protect the Arab Gulf region as a whole....

Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed, the Crown Prince at the time, paid substantial attention to education and established in 1986, computer laboratories in Abu Dhabi Schools and Higher Colleges of Technology, believing in the importance of technology to achieve sustainable development. 

The country started to develop in all fields rapidly, and planning for the future took a broader scope. Sheikh Zayed focused on the development of the industrial sector which progressed tremendously in his era; he also founded the national media of the seven emirates; he further established new roads, airports, seaports, which placed Abu Dhabi on the global industrial map.

1990
 

Modern Renaissance

In the 1990s, the emirate of Abu Dhabi was diligent to achieve the sustainable development and recorded consecutive successes in the economic, administrative and political levels alike. Amidst this immense success, the State's need for a strong capital to manage communications with other countries, and a permanent constitution, was evident. In 1996, the Supreme Council approved a modified version of the country's temporary constitution, which became the permanent constitution of the United Arab Emirates; and Abu Dhabi was selected the capital of the Union. "

 
2000
 

New Era 

The date 2nd of November 2004 marks Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan's death; in the aftermath of this appalling event, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan was unanimously elected by the members of the Supreme Council of the Union, President of the United Arab Emirates.

Following his father's footsteps, His Highness Khalifa bin Zayed bin Sultan believed in the development of man in the first place and made education and health at the top of his priorities. Moreover, he has continuously urged citizens for political participation which was behind the launching of the political participation program in 2005 in-line with the parliamentary expansions in the UAE. ...

UAE parliament witnessed unprecedented development where it has been enabled to perform its constitutional competencies, and to develop the Federal National Council. In the thick of this, women's participation increased for enactment as voters and members of the Council, upon the Constitutional Amendment No. 1 for the year 2009.

2010-2021
 

Prosperity Ahead

InIn 2015, Amel Abdullah Al Qubaisi was elected Chairman of the Federal National Council, becoming the first woman to hold the post of the presidency of a parliament in the Arab world. Afterwards, the Federal National Council launched its strategy for the years 2016-2021, which focused on strengthening patriotism, placing the political empowerment program launched by His Highness the head of state in 2005, in the spotlight. The strategy aims at the happiness of the people of the Emirates, and the consolidation of the country's ranking internationally.

The UAE is currently on a concrete path paying significant attention to the principles of sustainable development to ensure continued prosperity for future generations. ...

UAE has achieved a whole heap in recent years, which is proof of its ubiquitous presence in the international scene. Moreover, it ranked high in the report of the UN Development Program in the category of countries that focus on human development. It was also ranked first among Arab countries in the World Bank report on the feasibility of practising businesses in 2016.

 The UAE has maintained its presence in the Green List of the most prosperous countries in the world and was among the first ranks in the economic report of the rate of per capita income. In addition, UAE was ranked first amongst Arab countries and fifth in the world, in the satisfaction of living index in the report of the "Legatum Prosperity Index 2017". In the "World Happiness Report 2018" the UAE came first among Arab countries and the 28th globally.

X
TAMM uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more about cookies
Accept & Close

Abu Dhabi banner
أبوظبي في
1700
 

البداية..ليوا

يبدأ التاريخ الحديث لإمارة أبوظبي عندما خرج بنو ياس من موطنهم الأصلي، ليوا، بحثاً عن أراضٍ بها ماء عذب ومراعٍ جديدة.

وفي ستينات القرن الثامن عشر تم اكتشاف الماء العذب في أبوظبي (كانت تدعى حينئذ مليح المشتقة من الملح في إشارة إلى الأراضي الملحية الممتدة على ساحل الجزيرة، وسبب التسمية الجديدة هي أنها كانت موطناً للظباء) وأقام بني ياس بها وامتهنوا صيد الأسماك والغوص بحثاً عن اللؤلؤ..........

واتخذ شيخ القبيلة شخبوط بن ذياب بن عيسى آل نهيان، من جزيرة أبوظبي مقراً له، وبنى حصن مربع به برج مراقبة (قصر الحصن حالياً) لحماية المدينة، وتمكن من تقوية دعائم الاقتصاد المحلّي بتوحيد القبائل. امتد نفوذ تحالف قبائل أبوظبي من جنوب قطر على طول الساحل إلى دبي، بل وامتد أيضاً إلى منطقتي الظاهرة والبريمي، واستطاعت أبوظبي خلق قوة بحرية ذات ثِقل بجانب قوتها البرية.

وتمتعت أبوظبي باقتصاد قوي طوال القرن التاسع عشر حتى نهاية القرن العشرين بفضل تجارة اللؤلؤ بها.

أبدى آل نهيان حكمة سياسية بالغة منذ البداية حيث قام الشيخ سعيد بن طحنون بزيادة تحصين مبنى الحصن حمايةً من أي معتدي، ومن بعده الشيخ زايد بن خليفة الذي حكم أبوظبي أكثر من نصف قرن وفي عهده أصبحت أبوظبي المدينة الأكثر ازدهارا في المنطقة، حيث انتعشت التجارة وزاد التوسع الزراعي بشكل ملموس وراجت مواسم الغوص على الرغم من الكساد الاقتصادي الذي سبق تلك الفترة.

كما قام الشيخ زايد بن خليفة على الإصلاح الاجتماعي والسياسي ونجح في إعادة الوحدة والتماسك إلى المنطقة بفضل التحالفات التي عقدها مع قبائل خارج حدود الإمارة.

1900-1950
 

قصر الحصن

أطلق الشيخ خليفة بن زايد عام 1905، في محاولة منه لإقامة دولة موحدة، دعوة للاتحاد وتمثل هذه الجلسة القبليّة جذور تجربة الاتحاد السياسي في الإمارات الآن، وفي عام 1909 توفي الشيخ زايد بن خليفة في وقت كانت أبوظبي في أوج ازدهارها.

 .........

بحلول عام 1918 بدأت الحرب العالمية الأولي مما كان له الأثر الكبير على اقتصاد المنطقة، وتراجعت تجارة اللؤلؤ في أبوظبي بعد ابتكار اليابان اللؤلؤ الصناعي. وفي عام 1929 اجتاح الكساد الاقتصادي الكبير العالم وتوقفت سفن الغوص بعد أن عجز التجار عن تمويلها.

 

في أعقاب هذه الأحداث منح الشيخ شخبوط بن سلطان (1928-1966) تصريحاً لشركات النفط لتبدأ التنقيب في عام 1939، وبالرغم من بطء التنقيب وقلة العائدات إلا أن الشيخ شخبوط بن سلطان استخدم العائد في توفير فرص عمل للمتضررين من تراجع تجارة اللؤلؤ وبني قصر الحصن (الذي يُعد حاليا قصرًا تاريخياً للعائلة الحاكمة يحفظ الإرث الثقافي للدولة) وشكّلت هذه الاتفاقية بداية جديدة لاقتصاد أبوظبي.

 

تولى الشيخ زايد حكم العين عام 1946 وبدأ في التطوير والإصلاح الفعلي للمدينة; حيث افتتح أول مدرسة في العين وأول سوق ومستشفى، كما أنشأ شبكة طرق لربط المدينة، واهتم بزيادة الرقعة الزراعية بها، حتى اشتهر باسم "رجل الاصلاح الكبير".

1960
 

حُكم الشيخ زايد

تسارع التطور في أعقاب اكتشاف حقول النفط التجارية الضخمة في عام 1958 وبدأ توسيع رقعة المدينة لتستوعب النمو السكاني لأبوظبي، وأبحرت أول ناقلة نفط (بريتش سيجنال) في عام 1962 من جزيرة داس في أبوظبي.

وفي عام 1966 تولى الشيخ زايد مقاليد الحكم في أبوظبي، وآمن الشيخ زايد منذ اللحظة الأولى بأهمية توزيع ثروات النفط على شعبه، ووضع نصـب عينيـه تحسين نوعيه الحياة لأهل أبوظبي، وحث على تمليك كل الإمارتيتين الأراضي، وبدأ التعمير الحقيقي حول قصر الحصن، وتزايدت أعداد الوافدين إلى المدينة للعمل والعيش فيها. .........

«إن الاتحاد يعيش في نفسي وفي قلبي وأعز ما في وجودي، ولا يمكن أن أتصور في يوم من الأيام أن أسمح بالتفريط فيه أو التهاون نحو مستقبله».

1970
 

الاتحاد

وفي عام 1968، أعلنت بريطانيا بأنها ستنسحب من منطقة الخليج خلال ثلاثة أعوام، وفي عام 1971 أسس الشيخ زايد شركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية (أدنوك)، وعقدت أبوظبي مع شركات البترول اتفاقات تنص على حصول أبوظبي على 50% من عائدات البترول. وسجل حقل "باب" انتاجيه وصلت إلي 100.000 برميل يوماً سنة 1974،

وحقل "بوحصا" انتاجيه تصل إلى 500.000 برميل يوميا في نفس العام. واكتسبت أبوظبي سمعة عالمية ليس فقط بصفتها إحدى الدول الرئيسة المنتجة للنفط في العالم، بل أيضاً للجودة النوعية العالية للنفط من حيث درجة كثافته ومحتواه من الكبريت..........

وفي أعقاب الانسحاب اجتمع الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان مع الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم وعقدوا الاتفاقية المعروفة باسم "اجتماع السميح" والتي تتضمن الوحدة بين أبوظبي ودبي مع دعوة باقي الإمارات الخليجية الأخرى.

سارع الشيخ زايد إلي توحيد كلمة حُكّام الإمارات الأخرى لتشكيل الإمارات العربية المتحدة كدولة اتحادية قوية يوم 2 ديسمبر 1971 وتم انتخابه رئيساً للدولة.

بدأ الشيخ زايد منذ توليه مقاليد الحكم في أبوظبي في دعم المدينة ببنية تحتية قوية مع تنفيذ اصلاحات واسعة، وبنى جسر أبوظبي ليربط الجزيرة باليابسة، ومطار لربط أبوظبي بالعالم. كما شرع في تطوير التعليم والصحة، ووضع برنامجاً تنموي ضخم وقاد مسيرة تنفيذه، فدفع بشعبه إلى المشاركة بجدية ووظف الكفاءات الأجنبية للاستعانة بخبراتهم وف غضون أيام من تسلمه القيادة أعلن إقامة حكومة رسمية.

بحلول عام 1977 طرح أول مجلس تنفيذي للعاصمة خطة تنمية اقتصادية بميزانية محدده قيمتها 8.23 مليار درهم.

 
1980
 

أبوظبي إقليمياً

اتفق الشيخ زايد مع حكام الخليج على ضرورة انشاء اتحاد خليجي بين الدول الأشقاء، وبتاريخ 25 مايو 1981، تم تأسيس مجلس التعاون الخليجي إثر توقيع الاتفاق في أبوظبي، مما كان له عظيم الأثر الإيجابي على كافة دول الخليج.

كان صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان أحد مؤسسي قوة درع الجزيرة التي تأسست عام 1983، وهذا لتشكيل نظام دفاعي استراتيجي موحد لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، لحماية منطقة الخليج العربي ككل..........

اهتم صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد، ولي العهد آنذاك، بالتعليم اهتماما كبيراً وأنشأ في 1986 مختبرات للحاسب الآلي في مدارس أبوظبي وأسس كليات التقنية العليا إيماناً منه بأهمية التكنولوجيا في تحقيق تطور مستدام.

بدأت الدولة في التطور السريع في كافة المجالات، وبدأ التخطيط للمستقبل البعيد يأخذ نطاق أوسع، فركّز الشيخ زايد طيب الله ثراه على تطوير القطاع الصناعي الذي تقدم في عهده بشكل كبير، كما أسس إعلام وطني للإمارات السبع، فضلاً انشاء الطرق الجديدة، والمطارات الدولية، والموانئ البحرية، مما وضع أبوظبي على الخريطة الصناعية العالمية.

1990
 

أبوظبي العاصمة

كانت أبوظبي في التسعينيات إمارة تعمل بكد على التطور المستدام وكانت تحقق نجاحات متعاقبة على الأصعدة الاقتصادية والإدارية و السياسية على حد سواء. وظهرت حاجة الدولة إلي عاصمة قوية تدير منها اتصالاتها ودستور دائم يُنظم أوجه الحياة فيها. وفي عام 1996، وافق المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد على نص مُعدل لدستور البلاد المؤقت، والذي أصبح الدستور الدائم لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتم اختيار أبوظبي عاصمة للاتحاد بموجبه.

 
2000
 

حُكم الشيخ خليفة

في الثاني من نوفمبر عام 2004 توفي الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيب الله ثراه، وتم انتخاب صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، حفظه الله، بإجماع أعضاء المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد، رئيساً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وانتهج صاحب السمو خليفة بن زايد بن سلطان ما سار عليه أبيه وآمن بتنمية الإنسان في المقام الأول وجعل التعليم والصحة على رأس أولوياته وحث المواطنين على المشاركة السياسية وطرح برنامج سياسي عام 2005 يتماشى مع التوسعات البرلمانية في الإمارات. .........

وشهد البرلمان الإماراتي تطوراً غير مسبوق حيث تم تمكينه من ممارسه الاختصاصات الدستورية وتطوير المجلس الوطني الاتحادي، وزادت مشاركة المرأة بعد التعديل الدستوري رقم 1 لسنه 2009 كعضوة وناخبة.

2010-2021
 

أبوظبي نحو القمة

وفي عام 2015 تم انتخاب أمل عبد الله القبيسي رئيسة للمجلس الوطني الاتحادي، لتصبح أول امرأة تتولى منصب رئاسة البرلمان في العالم العربي. عقب ذلك أطلق المجلس الوطني الاتحادي استراتيجيته للأعوام 2016-2021، والتي ركزت على تعزيز الوطنية فركزت على برنامج التمكين السياسي الذي أطلقه صاحب السمو رئيس الدولة عام 2005، وتهدف الاستراتيجية إلى إسعاد شعب الامارات، وتقوية مكانة الدولة أكثر على المستوى الدولي.

تعتمد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة حالياً مساراً محدداً للارتقاء بتصنيفها بين الدول، وتولى بالغ الاهتمام لمبادئ التنمية المستدامة لضمان استمرار الازدهار للأجيال المستقبلية. .........

حققت الدولة في الأعوام الأخيرة الكثير من الإنجازات التي تُعد إثبات على وجودها القوي في المشهد الدولي، فقد حققت تصنيف مُشرف في تقرير "البرنامج الإنمائي للأمم المتحدة" ضمن فئة الدول التي تركز على التنمية البشرية، واحتلت المرتبة الأولى عربياً ضمن تقرير البنك الدولي عن سهولة ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال لعام 2016. وحافظت الدولة على وجودها في القائمة الخضراء ضمن الدول الثلاثين الأكثر رخاءً في العالم وكانت من ضمن المراتب الأولي في التقرير الاقتصادي لمعدل دخل الفرد، واحتلت المرتبة الأولي عربيا والخامسة عالميا في مؤشر الرضا عن المعيشة في تقرير "مؤشر الرخاء العالمي". واحتلت المرتبة الأولي عربياً وال 28 عالميا ضمن تقرير السعادة العالمي 2018.

إن الإنسان هو أساس أية عملية حضارية... مهما أقمنا من مبان ومنشآت ومدارس ومستشفيات ومهما مددنا من جسور وأقمنا من زينات، فإن ذلك كله يظل كيانا ماديا لا روح فيه وغير قادر على الاستمرار. إن روح كل ذلك الإنسان القادر بفكره القادر بفنه وإمكانياته على صيانة هذه المنشآت والتقدم بها والنمو معها”.

X
يستخدم موقع "تم" ملفات تعريف الارتباط لجعل الموقع أسهل في الاستخدام. اعرف المزيد عن ملفات تعريف الارتباط
قبول وإغلاق